Panel: The Fights to Transform the UAW and the Teamsters

October 20, 2021
Register Now »

Event at a Glance

Date

October 20, 2021, 8:00 pm

For decades, members of the United Auto Workers and the International Brotherhood of Teamsters have struggled to turn their iconic unions into democratic organizations that are ready to fight the boss. This November, two landmark campaigns—the 2021 Teamsters election and the UAW "one member, one vote" referendum—will steer the course of these unions for generations to come.

Join Auto Workers and Teamsters past and present to hear about the lessons learned from years of rank-and-file organizing to transform these two unions.

Panel: The Fights to Transform the UAW and the Teamsters
Wednesday, October 20
8pm ET / 7pm CT / 5pm PT
Online via Zoom.

Speakers will include:

  • Ken Paff, founder of Teamsters for a Democratic Union
  • Carthy Boston, TDU International Steering Committee member and UPS Teamster steward, Local 639
  • Mike Cannon, former International Rep and member of New Directions, and current Unite All Workers for Democracy (UAWD) caucus leader
  • Scott Houldieson, UAWD chair and member of UAW Local 551 at Ford's Chicago Assembly Plant

Organizations listed for identification purposes only.

How to Register:

This event is free, but registration is required and donations are welcome. If you'd like to make a donation, you can do so when you register below by choosing the $10 or $20 options. To make a donation larger than $20 or to become a Labor Notes monthly donor, visit labornotes.org/donate. 

Your support helps Labor Notes offer more events like this one and continue our coverage of efforts to put the movement back in the labor movement.

Registration Details: